Keep on Comin’, Avocado Craze

I have just been smiling at the avocados on my Instagram feed, in the news and as the topic of podcasts. It has become one trendy green fruit and I’m cheering it on with pom poms!

Not because avocados are photogenic on my picture-ready plate. Not because I think monounsaturated fats hold moral superiority. And most definitely, not because I adhere to a “clean” diet. No no, not at all!!

I am loving this craze because I like to think of avocados as one of the medicines that healed me. Food and especially those rich in fat did. Helllllo there, salted peanut butter and brambleberry crisp cone in one hand as I use my other to talk to my gal pal during our German Village stroll.

19732316_1722950237732837_7080840079488394994_n.jpg

I am not going to get too TMI on this space but I’ve seen the doc because one of my body’s 11 systems stopped working in its entirety. Which was caused by my hypothalamus telling a few of my hormones to stop functioning as these hormones ought to. Lucky for me, this doctor didn’t agree with others who told me to “just go on the pill and you’ll be golden”. Golden is my word choice but you know what I mean.

A deficiency in birth control is not why my body was choosing what to sacrifice in order to keep my heart beating. Synthetic hormones are not the real deal and should not be treated as such. No amount of drugs could heal my underlying problems but why go that sticky and unforeseeable route when I have access to the easiest, quickest and perfectly packaged fix to everything under the fiery star that stands 93 miles away? That would be called the sun.

As I said in my previous post, I fully recognize that I am not a credentialed health care professional. However, I have my personal story to contribute and have read a fair amount of research because I needed to make sense of what was occurring and how I could fix this problem for my sustainable well-being.

I resisted the band-aid solution and am so very grateful to my intuition, self-education and acknowledgement of God’s plan for the female body for that choice. It was my worst fear to push this issue off and continue dragging my body through intense stress until I try (and would’ve 183% failed) to bring babies into this world down zeee road. I couldn’t imagine selfishly telling my future husband, “Hey bud, we can’t have children because I didn’t take care of myself well enough. Sorry bout your luck.”

IMG_4413.JPG

This particular doctor told me to increase my intake with an emphasis on consuming enough fat from foods such as avocados, nuts, dark chocolate and ice cream. Because in case you were unaware, we all need fat to synthesize our hormones.

YES MA’AM. The caps are to celebrate my happiness for finding a MD who looked at my lifestyle and not just my test results. And that fats have become my favorite macronutrient. I now eat avocado daily, have a nut butter collection of 6 jars (formally 12 but my past roommate put me on a rightful ban for my excessiveness hehee), hardly go a day without dark chocolate and rounded up the troops at my family reunion last weekend to visit an ice cream shop that serves homemade IPA ice cream. IPA ICE CREAM!!

It wasn’t a fa(s)t and furious road to healthy inner-workings. Smooth like sunflower butter or beer ice cream or the creamiest avocado you ever did see is not how I would describe this process. Despite following these orders, time kept passing and I was losing hope. But my initial idea of what my body needed wasn’t oh so accurate. Everything fell into place with alllll the flexibility.

18198620_10212691330979232_7197612914538501407_n.jpg

Through plenty plenty plenty of trial and error, I now understand what my body requires to function as one cohesive kickazzzing unit, to have enough energy to get outside on a jaw-dropping running trail and to be my fully energetic, smiley self that thrives on puns and early morns and talking to my super cool aunt about her Chilean pottery. Being this in tune with my needs that change every single day is like woooAHmazing. But what isn’t that 12 letter adjective are the diet-focused messages that we’re surrounded by.

Just because avocados are the craze today doesn’t mean that our society has collectively accepted that fat on an individual’s body serves an important purpose. Diet-culture tells me that the fat on mine (or graduation cap?!) can be gone in 14 days if I could just simply eat a restricted diet and adhere to a Pinterest toning exercise plan. Probably should get a personal trainer who has never heard of intuitive movement too. Actually, I won’t be able to be a mother without it and will have osteoporosis at age 50 at that rate so byyyye. And this is no exaggeration.

My most recent birthday celebration was inspired by my favorite way to eat avocados (never ever less than 1/2 in one sitting is my motto!). A good tossing of full-fat dressing is key in my salads so that the fat-soluble vitamins in my veggies are actually absorbed by my body. The nut butter paired with my overnight oats, toast, smoothies, medjool dates and dark chocolate bar isn’t capped at two tablespoons in one day. HeccckNO.

IMG_4259.JPG.jpeg

Endless yesses to whipping up squid ink pasta made from scratch paired with a cream sauce, scallops and asparagus in a cooking class earlier this month. With a grilled endive and radicchio salad beforehand, a peach bellini sorbet afterwards and memories made with friends and strangers in between. Plus a snack when I got home because of satiety. Swooooon to the moon!

Who knows if this avocado frenzy is here to stay. I wouldn’t care if it all faded away tomorrow. My food philosophy isn’t fluctuating with the trends that millennials double dutch jump on. I’ll take your entire stock of ripe Hass avocados AND a bloodstream full of hormones AND a fabulously colorful life over fatphobia and prescriptions, please and thank ya!

2 thoughts on “Keep on Comin’, Avocado Craze

  1. Pingback: 180. |

Leave a Reply

