Let’s Get Toasty!

Like most families, mine celebrates birthdays by either cooking or getting takeout of the birthday boy/girl’s favorite meal. I missed the last two birthday meals because of internships a few hours from where my fam lives but when the tradition resumed this year, I decided on a toast bar and moved it to the a.m.!

The theme: Let’s Get Toasty! #BYOT #bringyourowntoaster
Yes, my sweet grandma and aunt graciously brought their toasters.

18892958_1681567195204475_8847567704042479125_n.jpg

My birthday is actually on June 10 but we celebrated early because this blonde boy in the soccer pants will soon be moving across the country for a few weeks and I didn’t want to have this birthday brunch bonanza without him!

I bought this black sign from Target, paper straws from Michaels, five loaves of fun breads from a local grocery store, a bottle of champagne, four dozen donut holes from a local bakery (I’m allll for supporting local!) and just cleared out our fridge and pantry. We ended up with seven spreads and 18 toppings. ZYUM.

IMG_3494 (1).jpg

  • Almond butter
  • JIF peanut butter
  • Natural peanut butter
  • Sunflower butter (I love my nut butters!)
  • Strawberry jam
  • Butter
  • Avocado (smashed and sliced)
  • Smoked salmon
  • Dark chocolate chips
  • Semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • White chocolate chips
  • Strawberries
  • Blueberries
  • Raspberries
  • Blackberries
  • Sliced banana
  • Shredded coconut
  • Hemp seeds
  • Chia seeds
  • Sea salt
  • Honey
  • Bee pollen
  • Everything bagel seasoning
  • Cinnamon
  • Tobasco
  • I wanted more like fried eggs, maple syrup and pickled onions but I was cut off hehee

18920569_1681567215204473_8842119301703488339_n.jpg

Leading up to this toasty feast, my family was kindly making fun of me for wanting this meal to celebrate 22 years on earth. Toast puts a smile on my face and all of the creativity it beholds is my favorite! Once everyone started picking their toppings, they were LOVING IT. The almond butter, white chocolate chips and everything bagel seasoning were fan favorites.

The toast was complemented by grapefruit mimosas and donut holes on paper straws aka donut pops!

And these broskis who got me avocado socks wrapped in Christmas wrapping paper and finished my sentence when I said , “LET’S GET…” 🙂

IMG_3578

As much excitement as pieces of bread, spreads and toppings brought me, it would mean practically nothing if I ate it alone. Food is delightful but food is food. Living, breathing, hand-crafted and divinely chosen human beings are more delightful than protein, carbohydrates and fat will ever be.

The conversation and thoughtful birthday cards I had the pleasure of receiving reminded me why these people who know me best (with all my weaknesses and oddities) wanted to celebrate me. From what their words tell me, it’s because I am confident in my originality, love all the messy pieces of life to the best of my ability and strive to choose joy in every moment (especially when I get to plop a plate of donut holes down on a table where my loved ones are sitting).

IMG_3550 (1)

My last two birthdays where I lived on my own were extremely low key and I only celebrated with one best friend each time. Although those were super memorable, I sat on my patio this year with an incredible extent of peace about my future. Peace that I will never be lost if I stay grounded in who I am and who I was created to be.

IMG_3587.jpg

Absolutely the best (birth)day EVER!

5 thoughts on “Let’s Get Toasty!

Leave a Reply

