The Blogs I Follow [UPDATED]

In my last Saturday Satisfaction post, I touched on my decision to unfollow some folks in the nutrition blogging world who weren’t doing my soul any well. You know the saying “you become like the five people who you spend the most time with”? Ya, I didn’t want to become like them so I stopped consuming what they were putting out on social.

It’s certainly not due to their character but rather, what they fill their days with and from what I have gathered, their mindset about it all. I don’t want to be obsessed about food. I don’t want to share every workout I do with the world. I don’t want my life to depend on outside gratification. I know my identity and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

It is natural to share what brings you joy. Hellllo, I do it daily. And practically every day, I feel bad for people who follow me on Snapchat because I capture memories of those I love the most and now that I’ve moved home, I’m surrounded by them. But too much love for people is not why I unfollowed dozens of accounts.

There’s a line between healthy and disordered and it has become insanely blurry in the nutrition blogging community. With increased education and my past internship and current volunteer work at an eating disorder treatment center, I now notice it more than ever before among my friends, family and yep, bloggers.

SoooOo, here is a list of nutrition and not nutrition folks who I follow. Because they are authentic, honest and educated. I try to read/listen to their content as much as I can because the words they publish are oh so refreshing. I come across heartbreaking conversations and posts quite a bit but they restore why I want to become a dietitian and why I am chasing after heaven, not perfection.

IMG_5267-819x1024

The Real Life RD – Robyn is my favorite blogger of all time!! Whenever my friends tell me that they are sick of Netflix and want to know what blogs they should read, I send them her link. She is both a dietitian and a nurse practitioner so she knows her stuff, isn’t afraid to discuss topics people normally stray from and includes a fun mix of her personal life. CHECK HER OUT!

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 8.28.52 AM.png

Hummusapien – Alexis is in Columbus aka where I spent the past four years! She’s crazy nice and has recently shifted her content to talk more about disordered eating because of her observation of the increasing prevalence of orthorexia (eating disorder where an individual develops extreme “healthy” thoughts and behaviors) in her clients and society. She owns a plant-based restaurant and is opening a sister concept next month!

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 8.25.07 AM.png

immaEATthat – Kylie is theeeee queen of calling out eating disorder behaviors in her everyday life. She just opened up a private practice after working for an eating disorder center for a few years. My friend and I will often text each other, “Please go watch immEATthat’s insta story rant” because in a diet and exercise obsessed culture, her sensitivity about these topics fuels her fire.

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 8.23.17 AM.png

Avocado A Day Nutrition – The fourth and last dietitian blog I enjoy reading is Rachael’s. It’s funny because the four dietitians I’m featuring are all friends in real life. Aka how I discovered each of them 🙂 Rachael talks a lot about joyful eating and brings serious knowledge to her blog from her private practice.

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 8.19.55 AM.png

sometimes, always, never – Whitney is the cutest ever! She quit her corporate job to start The Letter Project, an organization of women who write letters to girls providing encouragement! On her blog, she discusses relationships and imperfection with complete vulnerability and dreams without limits. She was also one of Robyn’s (first blog I mentioned) bridesmaids last month!

Bonus = podcasts!! Fr. Mike Schmitz, Leah Darrow’s “Do Something Beautiful“, Paige Smather’s “Nutrition Matters” and Kristy Harrison’s “Food Psych” . The first two are faith oriented and the second two are conversations about intuitive eating, the psychology of eating, positive body image and lots more. These are my favorite to play as I’m getting ready in the morning or as some serious reflection during a run.

2 thoughts on “The Blogs I Follow [UPDATED]

Leave a Reply

