WIAW: I Wish I Was a Little Bit Taller

I wish I was a little bit taller.
I wish I was a baller.
I wish I had a french toast bake who looked good, I would call her.

I hope you got the reference. And if you did not, you needta listen to this song. If we ever play Bananagrams together, I may play it during the rounds to increase the intensity. My family loves it. Maybe.

unnamed

Anyways, welcome to another day of eats in my poorly lit kitchen – Tuesday, January 17th edition! My first meal of the day was a good looking piece of french toast bake. Complemented by warm drippy peanut butter and natural maple syrup, of course!

I simply ripped up eight sprouted grain hamburger buns, added wild blueberries (MUCH more superior to regular blueberries), 10 eggs whisked with almond milk and cinnamon galore. Baked at 350 for a half hoursish…I do not use timers but it will be ready when the top becomes slightly golden! It made 12 delightful pieces and now I have breakfast for over almost two weeks yeeee!

9ba38380-21d7-4532-be97-2662ec72cc96

After anatomy & physiology class and a visit to the gym, I walked in the door and went immediately for a dark chocolate zucchini donut. My go-to lately for a mid morning snack/early lunch is a smoothie but my ravenous self needed a snack beforehand.

9ceac175-29bf-4201-85c8-6fca1e801101

My post-donut smoothie was half of a frozen banana, wild blueberries, frozen spinach, half scoop Vega protein powder, 1 teaspoon spirulina and unsweetened almond milk! And always always always a bridesmaid straw.

I listened to a Fr. Mike podcast while I sent a few emails, did a bit of cleaning and then had to get out the door for my nutrition class. This was just the third class of the semester but I already know it is going to be a party and then some! My professor is a registered dietitian so I am fan girling. And then some!

a4ada7bc-a424-442b-bcfa-214f04e7e29d

Brett Young sang to me for two hours (EP on loop) while I did some Yelptern (Yelp intern) thangs. Snacks included carrots with sriracha-ey baba ganoush and a KERa KERa orange (actually cara cara but ya know!). To prep myself for an eventful evening, I made a blissful iced matcha latte (straw included) while discussing this sweet roommate of mine’s wedding planning shenanigans. Shalom, sibs!!

352fab80-3747-4f0c-ab22-828fba642c1a

I left for a student organization meeting on campus and from there, drove to Local Matters for cooking training. Local Matters is a nonprofit I just started volunteering with that does healthful food education. Apart from teaching all ages of the community how to cook with nutrient dense foods on a budget that may include SNAP or WIC, their emphasis is on relational dialogue. Gahhhhh I love it!!

I knew traffic would be awful so I left a tad before rush hour and packed my dinner to have in the parking lot. My obnoxiously bright pink lunch box contained a salad, apple and this butternut squash pasta. I did not touch the salad because it did not sound satisfying but the pasta was incredible and made outta green lentils so it is protein and flavor packed!

f53c98a7-5d4d-419b-b08b-af380a2c05a8

On the drive home, I was craving one of my favorite snacks: nut butter and dark chocolate stuffed dates. I chose sunflower butter and a few chunks of a 85% cacao bar. HITS THE SPOT EVERY TIME.

28a6396b-4f17-425f-818d-3234cff87ed2

I changed into the comfiest of clothes, snuggled up with this lavender kombucha, dove into homework and then my new years’ resolution. NYR =  read at least one page of something unrelated to school (in addition to my Bible) every single day. Today’s selection was this incredible blog post! I am currently making my way through Emily Stimpson’s book so I enjoy keeping up with her blog too 🙂

Post script: I do not wish I was a little bit taller. Good day to you!!

One thought on “WIAW: I Wish I Was a Little Bit Taller

Leave a Reply

