The Prize

At this moment (final day of my winter break), I’m fairly certain my heart has never been more full. And as cliché as that may sound, I am notttta taking it back!

prize-1

Four weeks of coffee dates, sushi dinners, road trip adventures, craft parties, wine nights, sleepy movie lounging, panini reunions and games galore are JUST what I needed. Actually, MORE than I could have ever asked for.

img_6591

The people who I have shared these memories with are nothing less than gifts from above. They are kind, selfless, joyous, trustworthy and encouraging individuals. They are great listeners, simultaneous pro laughers and laugh causers and gently pound (zeeee best oxymoron) advice into me just when I need it. They dream crazy dreams with me, stand by my side as we test prototypes of my invention (!!!) and are always down for a good dance party.

prize-6

Some I learned to play tennis with when pigtails were all the rage, some I share genes with and others have come into my life when we shared the same high school uniform. But no matter how we met, I cannot and never want to imagine my life without them!

unnamed-3.jpg

Because they are each a prize. Saint Thomas Aquinas said it himself. “There is nothing on this earth more to be prized than true friendship.”

img_6611

How do I know it’s true? They build me up, don’t bring me or others down, genuinely want the best for me and push me to be a better daughter of our King. They make me more vibrant than the caffeine in the coffee we share ever could, are marvelous examples of the feminine genius and without awareness, instill in me a desire to become a more empathetic friend. They are sturdy shelters, beyond price and life-saving remedies.

img_6572-1

A faithful friend is a sturdy shelter; he who finds one finds a treasure. A faithful friend is beyond price, no sum can balance his worth. A faithful friend is a life-saving remedy, such as he who fears God finds. – Sirach 6:14-16

prize-3

Fun fact: one time I put these verses in a note to my roommate who isn’t Catholic and her response was, “That was so sweet but this book isn’t in my Bible.” Oooops on my end because yup, this is one of the seven books that is added on for the Catholic folks. However, its truth and beauty always leaves me wanting to go down my contact list and call each person to tell them how unrepeatable they are.

“The human being is single, unique, and unrepeatable, someone thought of and chosen from eternity, someone called and identified by name” – St. John Paul II

prize-5

If this break o’ mine has taught me one thing it would be the sweet as honey (my friend, Kate, has gently pounded this phrase into my vocabulary) value of true friendship that God has absolutely spoiled me with.

fullsizerender-3

We are not mediocre people and we are not meant for mediocrity. So I please urge you to not spend your time around anyone who thinks you are just mediocre. Recognizing your worth and surrounding yourself with people who do the same is LIFE ALTERING! So much so that many saints had saint friends.

IMG_6651.JPG

So McKenna, Bianca, Lindsay, Morgan, Nikita, Maddie, Keri, Lindsey and Hannah, Jordan and Kassidy and all the more (I’m looking at you, Merry Slabmas ladies), thank you. Thank you for being a treasure to me over this break, in the past and what is to come. For my friends away from home and those living in my home, I am equally thankful for you. I cherish you always and recognize your worth in my life.

Prize 7.jpg

Let us celebrate our friends EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. They are surely, undoubtedly, inexpressibly the prize!!

6 thoughts on “The Prize

Leave a Reply

