17 Reasons Why I’m Dying of Joy

This side of heaven is flooded with flawed people. We (myself ENTIRELY included) are sinful, tired and longing for more. Our temporary bodies are wasting away as our eternal souls are hungry, maybe even starving.

So Jesus gave and continues to give us the most intimate solution in the Mass. He offers Himself in the Eucharist EVERY SINGLE TIME. This communion is nothing less than heaven on earth. It’s an awe-filled encounter as we become a tabernacle of our Lord. As St. John Vianney says, “If we really understood the Mass, we would die of joy.”

I clearly have not died of joy but boy oh boy, am I joyous! And humbled and vastly thankful and mind blown to the extreme! Why Jesus would make His most praise-worthy self into a tiny host is inconceivable to me. Even more so, when you think about the past, present and future Church uniting together to bow down and receive His goodness.

I’m going to let the saints (and two popes and one archbishop and one special fella) take this one away and explain their devotion to His Body and Blood. And then I’m going to re-read each 17 of these accounts 82 times because THIS IS OUR REAL ATTAINABLE GOD. This is the sweetest gift and the best nourishment we could ever choose to fill our bodies with! Again, this is heaven on earth!

eucharist-660x350-1474611044

  1. “If we but paused for a moment to consider attentively what takes place in this Sacrament, I am sure that the thought of Christ’s love for us would transform the coldness of our hearts into a fire of love and gratitude.” – St. Angela of Foligno
  2. “God is everywhere, in the very air I breathe, yes everywhere, but in His Sacrament of the Altar He is as present actually and really as my soul within my body; in His Sacrifice daily offered as really as once offered on the Cross.” – St. Elizabeth Ann Seton
  3. “How many of you say: I should like to see His face, His garments, His shoes. You do see Him, you touch Him, you eat Him. He gives Himself to you, not only that you may see Him, but also to be your food and nourishment.” – St. John Chrysostom
  4. “I fear the day when I do not receive Holy Communion. This bread of the Strong gives me all the strength I need to carry on my mission and the courage to do whatever the Lord asks of me. The courage and strength that are in me are not of me, but of Him who lives in me – it is the Eucharist.” -St. Faustina
  5. “When you look at the Crucifix, you understand how much Jesus loved you then, when you look at the Sacred Host you understand how much Jesus loves you now.” – St. Mother Teresa of Calcutta
  6. “When you approach the tabernacle remember that he has been waiting for you for twenty centuries.” -St. Josemaria Escriva
  7. “I hope I do not offend God by making my Communion in the frame of mind I have been describing. The command, after all, was Take, eat: not Take, understand.” – C.S. Lewis
  8. “If angels could be jealous of men, they would be so for one reason: Holy Communion.” -St. Maximilian Kolbe (wasn’t going to play favorites but this one may be it!)
  9. “Until we have a passionate love for our Lord in the Most Blessed Sacrament we shall accomplish nothing.” – St.  Peter Julian Eymard
  10. “The Eucharist is the supreme proof of the love of Jesus. After this, there is nothing more but Heaven itself” – St. Peter Julian Eymard
  11. “When we leave the holy banquet of Communion, we are as happy as the wise men would have been if they could have carried away the infant Jesus.” -St. Jean Vianney
  12. “There is nothing so great as the Eucharist. If God had something more precious, He would have given it to us.” – St. John Vianney (orrrr this one!)
  13. “The Eucharist is essential for us: it is Christ who wishes to enter our lives and fill us with his grace.” – Pope Francis
  14. “The greatest love story of all time is contained in a tiny white host.” – Archbishop Fulton Sheen (just kidding, I give up because they are all life-giving!)
  15. “Without the Eucharist, the Church simply does not exist.” – Pope Benedict XVI
  16. “The Eucharist is far more than just a meal; it has cost a death to provide it, and the majesty of death is present in it. Whenever we hold it, we should be filled with reverence in the face of this mystery, with awe in the face of this mysterious death that becomes a present reality in our midst.” –  Pope Benedict XVI
  17. “If we receive the Eucharist worthily, we become what we receive.” – St. Augustine

Here’s to a new year with a deeper yearning to encounter our God in the Eucharist! I am not a superstitious person but I did notice that we have 17 reasons in 2017. Ahhhh. Sweet Lord!

One thought on “17 Reasons Why I’m Dying of Joy

Leave a Reply

