Weird. Interesting. Fear.

“You’re weird and interesting — I love that. Let’s chat.”

That my muchachos is a two sentence snippet of an email someone sent me after I sent them a ridiculously me cover letter. Ridiculously me? Whattaadoesthatmean? That means authentic-no filters-shalom greeting-a few extra letters throw into words-exclamation points everywhere-Kerigan. Add weird and interesting to that trail mix.

Whether this chat leads to a position or not, these two sentences have been bringing a smile to my face and a buzz in my brain ever since they landed in my inbox. Because I am weird and interesting. But I don’t know if as many people know that as they should. All due to the fact that I am fearful. Subconsciously but sometimes not, full of fear.

One of my role models’ birthdays is today and he gave me the bday goodie bag of inspiration. I gave him a yuuuuge grateful hearted thank you. From St. John Paul II’s first homily of his papacy to his last that he wrote but didn’t survive to verbalize, he consistently demanded the human race to not be afraid.

 Do not be afraid. Do not be satisfied with mediocrity. Put out into the deep and let down your nets for a catch.

and

Have no fear of moving into the unknown. Simply step out fearlessly knowing that I am with you, therefore no harm can befall you; all is very, very well. Do this in complete faith and confidence.

annd

Do not be afraid. Christ knows “what is in man”. He alone knows it.

annnd

You won’t be surprised to learn that I’ve thought of a few things he might say to all of us! First he would repeat the words of the Risen Lord: “be not afraid.” He would tell us not to fear opening our hearts to Christ!

annnnd I could keep quoting him on and on and on but I think you see. I hope you see. That fear is a shoulda coulda woulda typa thang that we don’t have time for. However, we make time for it. We live it and we get comfortable in it and it does nothing but nonsense to our majestic purpose.

A fearful girl isn’t called weird or interesting. A girl embracing herself, putting all she has in the hands of the Lord and settling for absolutely nada close to mediocrity just might be.

Happy birthday, fearless fella.

10254010_10152363605908604_4736738976951671113_n_0.jpg

Leave a Reply

