WIAW: Snacks are the Remedy

(When the girls walk by we’ll be like) Hey y’all!!

Today was one of those days where you wake up hungry and stay hungry no matter how much you eat. I felt like a repeat of 4th-8th grade me when I would go home from school, break out the sour cream and onion Lay’s, Capri Sun, double stuf Oreos and previous night’s stir fry leftovers and feast. Minus all the artificial shenanigans.

IMG_2967.jpg      IMG_2974.jpg

I knew it was going to be one of those days when I ate a snack while making breakfast. Who does that? My hand is raised. I do that and my preference is a pre-peeled orange because we all know that if you’re food isn’t ready to eat, you’re not going to eat it.

Each morn I make two drinks before I allow myself to eat breakfast: 1 = water, 2 = iced coffee with my AeroPress. I also only allow myself to drink my coffee once I finish my tall glass of water. Talk about motivation!

After those two courses, I nommed on this heavenly 5 ingredient toast. Slightly burnt sprouted grain bread (my roommates hate me because I always have the toaster on the highest setting…oopsy! and they actually love me in case you were concerned (:). Peanut butter. Banana. Honey. Cacao nibs. Boom. Yum. Gone. In. Seconds.

IMG_2978.jpg

At work, I had the loveliest banana muffin (made of bananas, oat flour, maple syrup and tons of cinnamon) to hold me over until I returned home. I am working part-time for the month of May before my internship starts in June! Aka why I was home for lunch!

IMG_2981.jpg

I intended on just having an apple and ginormous salad of spinach, avocado, strawberries and raspberry vinaigrette (this bowl is deeeep and deceiving) with my beautiful date across the table but I was hungreeee. And without a date across the table.

IMG_2988.jpg     IMG_2993.jpg

So I had some spelt pretzels dipped in almond butter and then a plum and then a….

IMG_2997.jpg

row of this mint dark chocolate! P.s. this entire chocolate bar (including what is in my hand) is two servings. TWO SERVINGS. I very much so appreciate their understanding of dark chocolate admiration!

I was ready for dinner by 4pm so I had dinner at 4pm. Gotta listen to your body! I was drinking water all day and refuse to ever ever use that method to “fill me up” when my body actually wants substantial nutrients. That is a big N-O to the bueno.

IMG_3005.jpg

So I had sparkling water on the side of this bowl full of brown rice and roasted asparagus, broccoli, carrots, mini potatoes and onion. All cooked in sriracha and topped off with more sriracha of course!! If you’re thinking that potatoes are the odd one out, I’m thinking that you need to try it. There’s a local Asian place that put potatoes in my veggie bowl and ever since I tried that, I’ve been making it at home for myself!

IMG_3007.JPG

After returning from a work meeting, I had a piece of toast with coconut butter and cinnamon. Breakfast for night snack is always a good idea, friends. But you don’t need me to tell you that!

Leave a Reply

