WIAW: Lenten Edition

Shalom, hello, good morning and a happy Wednesday to you!

Just one week ago, Lent started (hip hip hooray!). I actually shouldn’t be that excited because it’s a season of repentance and growing closer to Christ through suffering. But after last year’s Lent and one going just as great this year, I’m still standing in the cheering section with pom poms raised high!

A Lention Edition of a day of eats is basically my kerfully content self minus chocolate. Am I missing dipping 80% dark chocolate in a jar of drippy peanut butter? So so much. But pro tip #1: dried fruit is quite the sweet treat replacement! Now go spread the Good News. Both interpretations please.

IMG_1628.JPG

Half a mashed avocado on a toasted (generously of course!) wheat bagel accompanied my morning time. The floor of my room, iced coffee with almond milk and Jesus are non-negotiables for this glorious time of day. I signed up for Best Lent Ever emails and it’s a 6 out of 5 stars for me! Go pay Mr. Kelly a visit!

IMG_1638.JPG

IMG_1640.JPG

After some library time and sending off my taxes (tis the season!), I came back to my apartment for a banana with peanut butter and black tea #2 of the day. I’m normally not a tea person unless A) it’s snowing or B) I have a cold. Both A and B are true. But also is my love for nut butter so of course I also had 2 carrot cake bites! This recipe sub the peanut butter for sunflower butter with added raisins, grated carrots, shredded coconut and heaps of cinnamon is the LOVELYYYest!

IMG_1642.JPG

FullSizeRender.jpg

I returned to my beloved carpet for today’s study session about the Mande people in Mali. Two minneolas were necessary for that. Once I got to the Dagbamba people in Ghana, it was time for hummus and a variety of dipping snacks: pecan thins, carrots and snap peas. Now who wants to take this world music quiz for me?

IMG_1649.JPG

Cancelled class meant even more sitting on the ground to cross out a few more things off of my to-do list while finishing off this bag of dried apricots. If I live alone some day, I would not be surprised in the slightest if I didn’t own a chair. Except for guests’ sake of course!

IMG_1657.JPG

Dinner before heading off to work (aka hanging out with high schoolers aka youth ministry is the greatest!) was spaghetti squash stir fry. This was half a spaghetti squash cooked with coconut oil and sriracha and allllll the veggies (7 kinds in case you wanted to know the definition of “allllll”).

Have a beautiful day and pretty please eat some dark chocolate for me (:

Leave a Reply

