Staring is Caring

These past few days, I have noticed quite a few people looking at me. In the context of strangers across the room. You know the drill.  When you look up and notice, they awkwardly look away.59299558 (1)

We’ve all been guilty of it. Except that I, quite thankfully, have been the one to cause the attempts of nonchalant look aways. I applaud your effort. When+someone+catches+you+staring+at+them_2aac49_4765421

Maybe it’s because I have this strange rule that if it’s not raining hard enough, I won’t open my umbrella up. Like today. The rain was falling down but nope, not pouring. So I find delight in feeling the precipitation while my umbrella remains folded up in my hand. Stares were given while I passed dozens on campus with their hoods up and umbrellas popped.

Or possibly because I’m quite familiar with RSA. Random smiling act. I just made that acronym up. I am constantly remembering funny things that happened in my day or will just smile because I just like to smile! And then can’t wipe it off my face in time for it to not confuse someone. Yesterday, someone even asked me why I was smiling while walking across the parking lot by myself. You tell me because I don’t have an answer, sir! 

Or maybe it’s because I carry a blanket with me to the library. And then people don’t think I can hear them when they comment on it. Example A: “Why does that girl have a blanket?” 1. Thanks for asking. 2. This girl has a blanket because I’m perpetually cold and writing papers with it wrapped around me is my kind of paper writing. The real question is, why don’t you have one too?dogs-in-blankets-22 (1)

I don’t mind people looking whatsoever. If they take an ounce of their day to glance over at myself for who knows what reason, I can give them an ounce of joy right back! Or at least try to.

One of my favorite quotes by Mother Teresa is, “Let no one ever come to you without leaving better and happier. Be the living expression of God’s kindness: kindness in your face, kindness in your eyes, kindness in your smile, kindness in your warm greeting.”

People may not necessarily come to you but they will look at you. A few uncomfortable seconds should never ever be undermined because staring is caring. The starer and the carer may not be the same person but curiosity makes the way for love. Even the royal fam knows it.b8fc4ffe5e277d30dc3c63772d759074

You are God’s living expression! It’s your identity. As a child of God, you hold the obligation to share the Father’s love with everyone you encounter. Quite confidently I can say that if you fill your mind and heart with God’s kindness, it will overflow onto your face. And then some more!“Look to God that you may be radiant with joy and your faces may not blush for shame.” – Psalm 34:5. AzePOAxCcAEsjKS

God needs your radiance to illuminate His world! The umbrella users, smile inquirers and blanket questioners will continue to come. Don’t allow any encounter go to waste.

One thought on “Staring is Caring

Leave a Reply

