It’s Bananas

B-A-N-A-N-A-S! Hollaback (girl) to Gwen Stefani for teaching me how to spell this nutrient powerhouse.Screen Shot 2015-09-05 at 12.54.02 PMWe all know that bananas are a spectacular source of potassium. This prepackaged and perfectly portable fruit will also supply you with vitamins C and B6, magnesium, iron, manganese and fiber. My favorite banana benefit is from tryptophan. This amino acid is converted into serotonin making the banana consumer more relaxed and happier!!

While on my search to ensure that I wasn’t typing up incorrect nutrition information, I found out that a bunch of bananas is actually called a hand and an individual banana is called a finger. That concludes the info session and no, I will never call my banana a finger.

Today I have three ways to amp up your banana game! Bananas are quite tasty on their own but like any food, can be boosted in flavor with a few add-ins. What you’ll need: peanut butter, hemp seeds, dark chocolate (or the chocolate of your choosing if you are anything like these cuties), honey, cinnamon, coconut oil and the obvious, bananas. And if you can find it, a Bananas in Pajamas bike circa 1999.Screen Shot 2015-09-05 at 2.00.46 PMPeanut butter hemp seed banana sushiIMG_9155 (1)

Sushi is one of my favorite foods. Bananas are one of my favorite foods. So we are putting the two together! All you do is cover the banana with peanut butter, sprinkle on some hemp seeds for texture, protein and healthy fats and slice it up! You could totally swap out the eel sauce or wasabi mayo for jelly or chocolate sauce on this gem.

Dark chocolate dipped bananasFullSizeRender

This one is self explanatory (I’m pretty sure they all are, actually) but I’ll proceed.  I sliced up the banana and placed it into the freezer so the banana wouldn’t fall apart at room temperature. Next, I melted dark chocolate chips and dipped my frozen banana coins halfwayish into the bowl of antioxidant richness. Practicing self-discipline, I took them right back to the freezer because these masterpieces are best frozen in my opinion!

Cinnamon honey fried bananasIMG_9187

I’ve been seeing this recipe on Pinterest for years and knew I needed to try it out. I’ve always had the ingredients and enjoyed warm bananas (if you made a weird face, I promise you’ll like them too) so el experimento was long overdue. I followed Rachel’s guidance and fried banana slices in coconut oil, honey and cinnamon. FYI this picture was taken in the cooking process so I agree with ya, it does not look too appealing. Appealing to the taste: bullseye.

Leave a Reply

