Why Laughter Really is the Best Form of Medicine

This blog post is written by my dear friend, Jordan Conrad. Jordan and I went to high school together and both worked at a country club pool sharing one too many m&m ice cream sandwiches. This girl is truly beautiful inside and out and will uplift you without even trying.

Screen Shot 2015-06-28 at 9.20.23 AM   1488851_10201102607142549_1105878400_n

Seriously. She never stops laughing. And when you think she has stopped she goes into another fit that is completely heartwarming. It’s a very good thing she has a contagious laugh because she brings joy wherever she goes! Thank you for sharing your positivity on my blog, Jordan!


Everyone has those days. And by “those days”, I mean the days where not even your favorite person, T.V. show, food, or anything seem to help cheer you up. I get it, being in a good mood 24/7 is hard sometimes. But, it’s not impossible. A few years ago, I used to let my tiredness and problems consume my attitude. Not only would I feel down, I physically felt that way, too. There would be days I couldn’t bring myself to do anything other than lay in bed and mope in my own sorrows (pity parties don’t sound too fun, do they?). There came a point where I just couldn’t handle feeling that way anymore. I was tired of feeling rundown. Something had to be done!

I tried countless attempts to change my mood. I changed my diet, thinking that foods were the cause of my problems. No luck. I tried branching out and making new friends, thinking that the people I was surrounded by were bringing me down. No luck. My infinite cure came when I laughed. Yes, that’s right-when I laughed. Not only did I change the way I felt, I changed the way I saw the world. I started seeing the humor in things. You know those jokes that some people miserably attempt to tell or the people who try maybe too hard to be funny? I find them to be painfully hilarious. In most social situations, I am undeniably awkward, but I’ve come to appreciate the humor in my own personality.

Laughing is a matter that has been researched by doctors, psychologists, etc. It is even said that “We change physiologically when we laugh. We stretch muscles throughout our face and body, our pulse and blood pressure go up, and we breathe faster, sending more oxygen to our tissues” (WebMD). Not only can laughing be seen as a medicine, it can be seen as an exercise. Sometimes, people joke about how their stomach hurts from laughing too much, but it’s true! Laughing gets your heart rate up, which is something you also do when you exercise.

Sometimes I laugh way more than I should, but there’s never a day I feel down. I’m encouraging all of you to try the same! Laughter is infectious. There’s even a game that some people use as an ice breaker; you sit in a circle with a group of people and the first person starts by saying “Ha” with a straight face. The next person proceeds with a “Ha ha” and it continues around until someone breaks the cycle by laughing. So, the next time you’re feeling down, simply laugh. It might not completely wipe away all the problems in your life, but I promise, you WILL feel a little better, and happiness goes a long way ☺

“There is nothing in the world so irresistibly contagious as laughter and good humor” – Charles Dickens

2 thoughts on “Why Laughter Really is the Best Form of Medicine

Leave a Reply

