Goat Cheese Glory

My favorite’s gouda.

tumblr_l9quf3bm5B1qceanoo1_500

No it’s not. It’s goat.

Today, we are talking cheese, goat cheese. The most impeccable cheese among the massive display at every grocery store! So many options. So many possibilities. So much glory for this single type.

In case you have not tried this delicacy, it is a lot like cream cheese but on a much higher level. Tangy, creamy, spreadable and crumbleable (it can be crumbled).  It pairs well with just about anything so tossing it into recipes is easy peasy and a surprising pop of complete flavor!

That is what I dislike about common deli cheeses. Sometimes when it is on a sandwich or paired with a cracker, the cheese completely disappears. I’m not talking running away or falling off but the flavor is masked. Why add ingredients when its existence is nonexistent?

I made it my mission to incorporate goat cheese in a different ways for eight days. I would’ve kept going but I ran out of cheese. Don’t ya hate that? LET THEM EAT CHEESE. Cake is cool too, Marie Antoinette.

IMG_7799
Massaged kale with olive oil and red wine vinaigrette, mejdool dates, avocado, goat cheese

This salad is inspired by Northstar’s beechwold salad. Yummzaway.

IMG_7808
Black bean burger (1/2 cup oats, one flax egg, 1 can black beans, lots of spices – makes 6) tomato, red onion, mashed avocado mixed with goat cheese

Summertime is burger time. No buns? No problem. Goat cheese fills that void.

IMG_7822
Brown rice and quinoa pasta, sautéed spinach, sun dried tomatoes, mushrooms, goat cheese

I neglected to include the best part when the cheese got all melty and creamy and goated coated each noodle. My Baaaa-d. I’ll stop with the goat jokes now.

IMG_7830
Toasted sprouted bread, goat cheese, honey, chopped walnuts

This concoction reminded me a lot of Panera’s honey walnut cream cheese. I wonder why.

IMG_7842
Toasted sprouted bread, fig butter, goat cheese

I threw this one together based off of a sandwich that I had at a local deli. But in grilled cheese form. Always the grilled cheese form.

IMG_7862
Mashed avocado, diced red onion, chopped tomato, juice of 1/2 lime, goat cheese

Thank you, Whitney, for this ingenious guacamole idea. Side note: these chips will make you question why you have been eating Tostitos all your life.

IMG_7867
Toasted sprouted bread, goat cheese, grilled eggplant & zucchini & bell pepper & red onion, balsamic glaze

This was probably the creation that I was least excited to eat but once I took that first bite, I wanted 12 more servings. Buy these ingredients in 12 serving bulk, my friends.

IMG_7901
Baked sweet potato, black beans, avocado, goat cheese

Why limit a baked potato’s hopes and dreams to butter, sour cream, cheese and broccoli? This tater is hoping and dreaming.

Leave a Reply

