Carrot Cake Pancakes

Sunday is my favorite day of the week. The Lord’s day is also pancake day in my kitchen! It’s also the one day that I do not work so I savor my stack of 3 ingredient banana oat pancakes without my eye on the clock. But today (it was Sunday when I wrote this), I turned my brunch notch up to carrot cake pancakes.

DESSERT IN HEALTHY PANCAKE FORM? Yup. I did it. And I’m sharing my secret with you. This may just be the most valuable thing I have been keeping to myself.

Recipes are quite weird for me to type up because I don’t follow them. Ever. I eyeball everything, cook it until I have a feeling that it is ready and it always meets my expectations. I have not a clue how.

Today I made these pancakes knowing that I would need to provide some guidance on ingredients. I accidentally poured things into the bowl and had to pour it right back out to measure it before I added it a second time. If you really want these (and you really do), come on over and have a seat at my table!

IMG_7760Here is a rough list of what you will need:

  • 1 cup of oat flour (blended oats)
  • 1 cup almond milk (pictured below)
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup coarsely chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1/2 tbsp. of cinnamon
  • 10 grated baby carrots (I used a cheese grater)
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • a few dashes of nutmeg (I didn’t have any but it would be an excellent addition)
  • coconut oil spray for cooking
  • natural syrup to pour on once cooked

IMG_7762I am a one pot type of cook. I like to throw wholesome ingredients into a bowl and call it a day! So that is all the direction I have for you. Put everything together and stir until all the ingredients are well dispersed.

IMG_7770Hey good looking’, we are cookin’! I did a few rounds of three pancakes on my skillet. I like to turn it on fairly low heat so they cook thoroughly and not just on the edges. Once you see the bottoms become golden…

“Hey switch, turn it over and hit it
Turn around, now switch
Turn it over and hit it” – Will Smith

You should only flip it over once but I’m not the one to compete with the Fresh Prince. I also recommend doing the Carlton while you wait for these to cook!

IMG_7778

Get creative with your shapes or not because old school is fun school too! That is supposed to be a K but it could be confused for a X. Xerigan? I’ll keep Kerigan.

Depending on your appetite, this recipe will make about 3 servings. A drizzle of syrup and another round of the Carlton later (because these were so tasty that I just had to dance again), you have yourself pancakes that don’t deserve to be in the same category as shake ‘n pours.

IMG_7779Father’s Day is this Sunday and this would be the ultimate breakfast in bed accompanied by a tall glass of OJ. You can have your Father’s Day cake too because these are PANcakes. Not the same thing even though they taste pretty darn close!

One thought on “Carrot Cake Pancakes

Leave a Reply

