BBBH: Black Bean Brownie Heaven

From the beginning of this blog,  I knew that I wanted my first recipe to be BBB (black bean brownies). However, I had not anticipated that they would come out being BBBH (black bean brownies from heaven).

This past Christmas break, I gave black bean brownies a go. I am always looking for my favorite indulgent foods that I can boost the nutritional content in. They came out fairly tasty! I even got the entire pan to myself because my family wouldn’t touch any dessert that had beans in it.

I knew they could be improved so I turned to a new recipe, Robyn Coale’s Better Than Betty Brownies [Vegan + GF]. Woah. Zyuuuum. I was and still am in heaven over these slices of supremacy!

I tweaked Robyn’s ingredient list a tad based off of what I had and what I wanted to add (more chocolate, obviously). You can definitely switch out a different type of sugar and use regular cocoa powder and chocolate chips if that is what your little heart desires.

– 2 tablespoons chia seeds mixed with 1/3 cup of water

– 3 tablespoons melted coconut oil

– 1 15 oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed

– 3/4 cup dark cocoa powder

– 1/2 cup turbinado raw cane sugar

– 1/2 tablespoon baking powder

– 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Ingredients    Measured

P.S. those flowers on the kitchen table are from the most endearing Trader Joe’s worker at Easton. I walked in with a few of my friends after we had gone out to dinner to celebrate a birthday. The cashier asked me what we were doing all dressed up and I told her it was my friend’s birthday. She instantly darted to the flower section and also grabbed a chocolate bar. The worker wrote a personalized message on the bouquet and the chocolate and proceeded to ring a bell and make an announcement to the whole store that it was my friend’s birthday. This is precisely why Trader Joe’s is the best place on earth!

Back to the concoction, you simply mix everything together and bake it in a greased pan! Robyn used a food processor to blend all the ingredients together. That beloved kitchen appliance is on my wish list so I used my blender instead and all was well. I had to blend it about 10 separate times with stirring in between but it came out as beautiful as a sunset on a Tuesday morning on the coast of Venezuela. I have never been to Venezuela but I just googled “Venezuelan sunset” and they are indeed beautiful!

Before oven

I take that back, the batter did not come out looking appealing whatsoever. It was a mass of creamy black substance. It was so dark that the dark chocolate chips that I added were light brown in comparison. But the smell, ohhh the smell! It was divine! It only got better once I popped it in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes (you will have to cook them until you insert a toothpick  and it comes out clean).

These brownies are filled with fiber, healthy fats, calcium, antioxidants and protein! It is the complete balance that you cannot find in your boxed brownies. Once you lick the spatula and bowl and take your choice at one or a couple of these gems, your nutritional intake will be through the roof!

After oven    Slice

Trust me, you will want to lick the spatula and bowl and eat multiple of these because they are phenomenal! I did not expect these to turn out so spectacular! These black bean brownies are rich, gooey in the middle, crisp on the edges and the perfect mate for a glass of almond milk. This is that dessert where you inspect the fork after you are finished to make sure who have gotten every last bit. I am surely sure that these are thee best brownies I have ever had!

2 thoughts on “BBBH: Black Bean Brownie Heaven

Leave a Reply

