Upward Falling

Do you ever wonder what songs artists (those who sing, not the ones who paint/watercolor/pencil/other amazing talents) listen to? I’m sure the Van Goghs out there listen to wonderful music too though.

I remember reading Seventeen magazine a good seven years ago. There was a column about what the Jonas Brothers listened to when they were on tour. One of the songs they included was by Michael Bublé. I thought it was the greatest thing ever because we had something in common over our love for Michael Bublé.

Alright, this story was terribly anticlimactic but my reason for bringing this up is because I  started following playlists by Lauren Daigle on Spotify. She is a young Christian artist who I find to be super relatable and super cool. I was curious about what she was listening to so through the beauty that is Spotify, I listened to her “Worship Wednesdays” playlist on this Thrilling Thursday. Consequently, my day was changed.

The second song that came was “Touch the Sky” by Hillsong UNITED. I proceeded to listen to it three more times, and then watch this, this, this, this, and this. The lyrics are the closest thing to perfection that I can think of, the melody is so soothing and emotionally stirring,  Taya’s voice is angelic and the message connects to me on a closer level of perfection than I just told you the lyrics were.

I tried to include one line that stood out among the rest but that goal was no bueno. The entire song that is inspired by the Beatitudes is remarkable. I eventually gathered these lines that are exceedingly captivating.

I found my life when I laid it down

Upward falling, spirit soaring

I touch the sky when my knees hit the ground

You traded heaven to have me again

Find me here at Your feet again

And my soul will dance on the wings of forever

I’m going to stop describing this song because #1 you need to go listen to it and #2 I know nothing about music so I most definitely sound like an uneducated person merely stringing together adjectives.

What’s crazy is that I know I have listened to this song before. It didn’t phase me and I forgot about it.  It blows my mind that my obsession over this song was fully orchestrated in 4 minutes and 22 seconds, yet I was not impacted at all when I heard it at a previous date. My guess is that this song was entering my ears as I was attempting to merge in intense Columbus traffic during rush hour.  Reason #432 why I am an advocate for peaceful morning prayer.

All day,  the words were circling around in my head and permeating my soul.  You know how Thanksgiving Day prompts the American public to be especially grateful? Well, this song is my Thanksgiving Day. I was brimming with incandescent joy because surrendering is a thing and I have chosen it and it is easily the greatest thing that I have ever adopted!

The word “surrender” is usually used in context as a form of weakness. But laying your life down to the Lord is anything but giving up. It is releasing control to the One who is closer to you than your next breath. It is emptying yourself and seeking Him alone for fulfillment. It is falling at His feet and reaching out to Him to pick you up. It is saying “Yes!” when you are terrified and lost. I can assure you it is the best three letters that will come out of your mouth.

I am upward falling after many failed yeses but there is no other direction I would rather be going. Surrendering is a process that cannot be rushed and can never be permanently checked off the to-do list. It must be a repeated decision to set yourself at His feet every morning. He provides a way to give you life when you lay yours down, He allows you to touch the sky when your knees hit the ground and He has traded heaven to have you.  Read that last sentence again and listen to it as soon as you possibly can!

One thought on “Upward Falling

  1. Pingback: June Playlist |

Leave a Reply

