HEY YOU, Welcome!

Welcome to Kerfully Content!! This masterpiece has been brewing in my mind for a couple months and after dozens of instances that keep bringing it back to my attention , today is the day! Wednesday, May 6, 2015. Cue the dancing lobsters.

Let’s rewind to the assignment that was the first inspiration for this blog. A couple weeks into my public relations course this past spring semester, my homework was to make a personal newsletter. A whole four pages about my life? I slightly panicked because I thought my life was too boring to write a single paragraph about. With the deadline approaching, my type A self had to get this assignment completed right away. This thing had to be printed in color and what if all the color printers on campus broke for the next 5 days? Extremely unlikely but I had to crank it out right then, right there.

At 3am that day, my newsletter (Kerfully Content Newsletter (PDF)) was written, edited and sent to the campus copy center. Writing it gave me a high and I wish that I could have created sequels on sequels. My chosen theme was things that make me happy so naturally, my family, friends, faith, hobbies and quotes were included.

Reading it again today stunned me about how much different I am in this moment. Beyond the much needed transition from omgitskerigan to kermcnamara on Twitter, I have joined more student organizations, taken leadership roles, made so many more friends, had incredible experiences and I just returned from day three of my internship. I don’t remember the last time I watched a TV show and haven’t done yoga since February, but I am entirely more content that I was a few short months ago. It is at the point where I am waiting for something tragic to happen to make up for the outpouring of blessings that I have graciously received.

I want to share my blessed life even if the only one who gets through my ramblings is my mother. My favorite pastimes are reading blogs, writing, anything nutrition related and my faith so why not mix it all together (and you know that it’s the best of both worlds). Surprisingly, Hannah Montana wasn’t the encouraging force to be more transparent in my life but I surely hope that I can be authentically myself without expectations or comparison.

I’m just a 19-year-old girl but thankfulness fills my heart and a smile covers my face. More importantly, I have a renewed perspective from myself in that 8a.m. class who thought my life was mundane. This platform is my mission to keep seeking joy through my days, return the love that is showered down on me in each breath and bring others to acknowledge the delight that fills our gift of life!

One thought on “HEY YOU, Welcome!

Leave a Reply

